Bad Dell designers! No biscuit!

27 11 2006

In many ways, working with clipper has been quite a joy. Everything works well, I only have to reboot once every 2-3 days (hey for Windows, that’s pretty good), and it’s pretty zippy.
But part of my job includes teleconferences every morning, which requires a headset. Headsets need to be plugged into the Mic and Speaker jacks.
Some Dell designer decided that:

  1. The jacks should NOT be color coded. Basic black works great for everything! I now know intuitively that the Microphone jack is toward the ‘back’ of the laptop.
  2. The jacks are NOT duplicated on the docking station. This is just daft. The docking station is supposed to be used to dock and undock the laptop with a minimum of hassle. NOW I have to plug and unplug my headphones -everytime- I dock or undock the laptop.
  3. And, of course, I situated the laptop to the -right- of my monitor stand, so it’s in the way whenever I need to do this. I blame Dell for that one too, while I’m at it.
Actions

Information

5 responses

27 11 2006
Rob

Machines designed for the convenience of accounting programs.
Always a good combination. *nod*

27 11 2006
blk

Clearly, Dell hates you. I reboot on average once a week, and my jacks -are- color coded.

27 11 2006
Rob

Which begs, once again, the question, “Why does reality hate Dave (and/or America)?”

27 11 2006
Jasra

My jacks (on the Dell) aren’t color coded either. I don’t have a docking station.

28 11 2006
Duncan

USB headsets avoid the whole non-colour-coded issue. Surprised they’ve gone back to pure black though – my 2002 laptop is pure black on the connectors, but has white pictures next to each one indicating the function. Must be a cost-saving excercise – coloured plastic must be expensive or something.

Leave a Reply

